Applications Open for Africa – Women, Peace, and Security Initiative!

U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs (AF)
Last date: 
Friday, July 22, 2016
Central African Republic

Detailed Description

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs (AF) and the Secretary Office of Global Women’s Issues (S/GWI) is seeking applications from eligible organisations for a project entitled “Africa – Women, Peace and Security (AF-WPS) Initiative” with an aim to identify and support sustainable projects that demonstrate a strategic and integrated approach to increasing women’s full and active participation in peacemaking, peacebuilding, and reconstruction processes at the local, national, and/or regional levels in specified African countries.

Priority Areas

  • Protection from Violence: Projects respond to the distinct needs of women and children in conflict-affected disasters and crises, including measures to prevent and respond to gender-based violence (GBV) in conflict-affected environments; projects prevent – and protect women and children from – harm, exploitation, discrimination, and abuse, including GBV and
    trafficking in persons, and strengthen governments ability to hold perpetrators accountable in conflict-affected environments.
    Participation in
  • Peace Processes and Decision-making: Projects improve the prospects for inclusive, just, and sustainable peace by promoting and strengthening women’s rights and effective leadership
    and substantive participation in peace processes, conflict prevention, peacebuilding, transitional processes, and decision-making institutions in conflict-affected environments.

Funding Information

  • Grants amounting to $300,000 – $500,000 in FY 2015 Economic Support Funds (ESF) will be awarded under this NOFO.
  • The initial period of performance will be for 2-3 years.

Focus Countries

Central Africa: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda
West Africa: Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali
East Africa: Kenya, Madagascar, South Sudan, Sudan


Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility is limited to educational and research institutions, foreign public entities, U.S. not-for-profit/non-governmental organizations (NGOs) subject to section 501 (c) (3) of the U.S. tax code, public interest organizations, and foreign not-for-profit organizations in selected African countries.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can apply via given website.

For more information, please visit

Copyrights 2017. All rights reserved | Technology Partner: Indev Consultancy Pvt. Ltd