CODESRIA’s 2017 Economic Justice Institute: Economic Justice in Africa: Climate Change, Inequalities and Development

The Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA)
Last date: 
Monday, April 10, 2017
Central African Republic
South Africa
South Sudan

Detailed Description

The Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA) invites applications for participation in an institute on ‘Economic Justice and Climate Change in Africa’ to be convened in Accra, Ghana from 29 May to 7 June 2017, on the broad theme of ‘Economic Justice in Africa: Climate change, Inequalities and Development’.

This call targets scholars and researchers working in African universities and research centres; practitioners and civil society activists working in the areas of climate change, social and economic justice, resource governance, property rights, commodification and extension of markets, climate justice, agriculture and other issues in the broad area of sustainable development. The institute is a follow-up to the 2015 Economic Justice institute that was held in Durban, South Africa in partnership with OSISA Economic Justice programme from 7–18 September 2015 on the theme ‘Economic Justice in Africa: Globalization, the State and Civil Society’.

CODESRIA is looking for proposals that are grounded in both ethnographic and political economy approaches to dissecting the global and local encounters of climate change discourses and policy designs and what this means to the interests of poor marginal populations in Africa.

Concepts notes and/or proposals submitted for consideration should show promise of transcending the general discussions on climate change to examining how climate change ‘economies’ encompass addressing economic and environmental inequality; and explore linkages between climate politics to issues of poverty, health and social justice.

The overall goal of this institute will be to cultivate ‘a shared understanding of alternative sustainable development approaches and provide analytical tools that enable social and economic justice researchers, practitioners and activists to interpret real world conditions in a rigorous manner’.


The specific objectives are to:

  • Support the development of knowledge and skills necessary to facilitate change and inclusive sustainable development in Africa and deepen critical thinking amongst practitioners, activists and key policy makers around current issues on climate change, social justice and inequality;
  • Strengthen the interaction and engagement between academics and grassroots networks working in the area of climate change, social justice and inequality related issues in Africa.

Eligibility Criteria

Researchers, scholars, practitioners and civil society activists based in Africa may apply.

How to Apply

Applications for laureates should include:

  • A letter indicating institutional or organizational affiliation;
  • Curriculum vitae;
  • A five-page concept note; including the title, a brief overview of the relationship between the candidate’s working area and the problematic and concerns raised by the theme of the Economic Justice Institute; an outline of the paper the candidate intends to develop after the institute for publication and an indication of how issues raised in the concept note intersect with the plight of marginal communities in the ‘climate change adaptation and mitigation agendas’.
  • Two (2) reference letters from scholars, researchers or activists known for their competence and expertise in the candidate’s working area, including their names, addresses, and email addresses.

All applications should be sent in word format electronically via email.

Eligible Countries

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Cote d’Ivorie, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

For more information, please visit CODESRIA.

Copyrights 2017. All rights reserved | Technology Partner: Indev Consultancy Pvt. Ltd