Early Career Women Scientists (ECWS) Fellowship Programme

Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World
Last date: 
Friday, August 31, 2018
Central African Republic

Detailed Description

Applications are now open for the Early Career Women Scientists (ECWS) fellowship Programme which is a prestigious award offered to women who have completed their PhDs in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) subjects and are employed at an academic or scientific research institute in one of the listed Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs).

ECWS fellows will be supported to continue their research at an international level while based at their home institutes and to build up research groups that will attract international visitors. The official language for the application is English.

The ECWS fellowships programme is administered by OWSD with funds generously provided by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada.


The ECWS fellowship specific objectives are:

  • Empower ECWS fellows to lead important research projects with practical applications for low and middle income countries (LMICs), including through strengthening their collaboration with industry.
  • Build the leadership and business skills of ECWS fellows needed for the dissemination and uptake of research results, and for career advancement.
  • Consolidate a network of outstanding women scientists that provides mentorship for the next generation of women leaders in STEM.
  • Funding Information

The ECWS fellowship is for two years and provides up to USD 50,000 to enable fellows to maintain an international standard of research as well as initiate collaborations and partnerships with industry and the private sector.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to apply for the ECWS fellowship applicants must meet the following criteria:

Eligible countries

  • Applicants must have been resident in one of the Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) for at least 5 years.
  • At the time of application, applicants must be already employed at the university or research institute where the project will be carried out.
  • This university/institute where the project will be carried out must be in one of the listed STLCs.

Please Note: This list may be subject to slight variation each year according to criteria established by our donor, IDRC, and in agreement with OWSD. Each year the list will be updated when the call for applications is opened.

Eligible STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics)

  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences
  • Biological Systems and Organisms
  • Chemical Sciences
  • Computing and Information Technology
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Medical and Health Sciences
  • Neurosciences
  • Physics
  • Structural, Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Eligible Academic Qualification
  • PhD in one of the above listed study fields.
  • PhD awarded not more than 10 years prior to application.

Eligible Employment

  • At the time of application, applicants must be already employed at the university or research institute where the project will be carried out.
  • The university or research institute must be based in one of the eligible countries.
  • Applicants must provide evidence that they will receive a salary from the above institute for the duration of the two-year fellowship

How to Apply

Applicants can apply via https://owsd.net/career-development/early-career-women-scientists-ecws-fellowships

Eligible Countries: 

Afghanistan, Liberia, Angola, Madagascar, Bangladesh, Malawi, Benin, Mali, Bhutan, Mauritania, Bolivia, Mongolia Burkina Faso, Mozambique, Burundi, Myanmar, Cambodia, Nepal, Cameroon Nicaragua, Central African Rep., Niger, Chad, Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip), Comoros, Paraguay, Congo, Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Sao Tome and Principe, Dem Rep., Congo, Senegal, Djibouti, Sierra Leone, El Salvador, Solomon Islands, Equatorial Guinea, Somalia, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Gambia, Sri Lanka, Ghana, Sudan, Guatemala, Swaziland, Guinea, Tajikistan, Guinea-Bissau, Tanzania, Haiti, Timor-Leste, Honduras, Togo, Kenya, Tuvalu
Kiribati, Uganda, Lao People’s Dem Rep., Vanuatu, Lesotho, Zambia.

Copyrights 2017. All rights reserved | Technology Partner: Indev Consultancy Pvt. Ltd