European Commission Call for Proposals: Networks of Towns 2020 – Round 2

European Commission
Last date: 
Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Detailed Description

The European Commission has announced a call for proposals for 2020 Networks of Towns.

In this context, the Europe for Citizens Programme (hereinafter ‘Programme) adopted for the period 2014-2020 is an important instrument aimed at getting the Union’s 500 million inhabitants to play a greater part in the development of the Union. By funding schemes and activities in which citizens can participate, the Programme is promoting Europe’s shared history and values, and fostering a sense of ownership for how the Union develops.


  • All projects will have to be in line with the objectives of the Programme. Priority will be given to projects additionally targeting the multiannual priorities of the Programme.

Under the overall aim of bringing the Union closer to citizens the general objectives of the Programme are:

  • to contribute to citizens’ understanding of the Union, its history and diversity;
  • to foster European citizenship and to improve conditions for civic and democratic participation at Union level.

Specific objectives shall be pursued on a transnational level or with a European dimension:

  • raise awareness of remembrance, common history and values and the Union’s aim that is to promote peace, its values and the well-being of its peoples by stimulating debate, reflection and development of networks;
  • encourage democratic and civic participation of citizens at Union level, by developing citizens’ understanding of the Union policy making-process and promoting opportunities for societal and intercultural engagement and volunteering at Union level.

Funding Information

The Programme has an overall budget of EUR 187 718 000 for the seven years (2014-2020) and is financed under the budget line 18 04 01 01 of the budget of the Union.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants must be either public bodies or non-profit organisations with legal personality. Natural persons are NOT eligible under this programme.
  • The applying organisation must be recognised as a “legal person” under its national law and thus provided with its independent legal personality, with the capacity to sign contracts and assume its own responsibility. In addition, the entity in question should be entitled to defend itself, in its own name, in litigation procedures and without the intervention of any parent organisation.
  • Applicants must be established in the following eligible countries: the Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo.
  • At least one EU Member State must be involved in the Remembrance and Town Twinning projects and at least two Member States must be involved in the Networks of Towns and Civil Society Projects.


Copyrights 2017. All rights reserved | Technology Partner: Indev Consultancy Pvt. Ltd