Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development


Relevent Country: France

Nominations are now open for the UNESCO’s-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development to support the improvement of teaching and learning quality in achieving the sustainable development goal 4 on quality education, which is one of UNESCO’s priorities.

The Prize is awarded every two years to three winners whose projects aim at improving the performance and effectiveness of teachers worldwide.

Prize Details

The Prize of US$300,000 is divided between the three laureates. Candidates should be institutions, organizations and educational or research institutes working to enhance the performance and effectiveness of teachers.

Eligible Projects

  • The project must have made a significant contribution to enhancing teaching and learning, in line with UNESCO’s principles and objectives in this field.
  • The project must be exemplary and likely to stimulate similar initiatives; it must have shown itself to be effective in mobilizing new intellectual and material resources.
  • The project must be ongoing for at least three years at the time of the application.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Institutions or organizations; international or national governmental or non-governmental organizations; educational or research institutions active in the field of teaching and learning.
  • Candidate organizations and institutions nominated by an official nominating body:
  • Member States in consultation with their National Commissions.
  • Non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO active in a field covered by the Prize.
  • Applications must be submitted in English or in French only.
  • Only organizations and institutions’ projects will be considered. Self-nominations are not eligible for the Prize and will not be considered.

Selection Process

  • The Prize Secretariat reviews all applications received before the deadline and transmits the eligible applications to the International Jury of the Prize.
  • The International Jury meets in person to assess the applications.
  • UNESCO’s Director-General selects the three winners based on the recommendations of the International Jury.
  • The Prize is awarded to the winners during an official ceremony organized on 5 October 2024, on World Teachers’ Day, at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris (France).

Source: https://www.unesco.org/en/articles/unesco-hamdan-prize-teacher-development-call-nominations-and-applications-now-open