Interreg North-West Europe Call 2 Now Open

Interreg North-West Europe

Relevent Country: Switzerland

Type of work: Research and Survey

The Interreg North-West Europe Programme invites partnerships of public and private organizations to submit applications in the framework of the second call for proposals for the 2021-2027 period.

Aim of the Programme

  • The Interreg North-West Europe (NWE) Programme is one of the fourteen transnational cooperation programmes financed by the European Union. It is financed through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). ERDF is one of the funds designed to improve EU Cohesion.
  • The Programme encourages public, scientific, private, and civil society organisations to cooperate with a view to promote a green, smart and just transition for all NWE territories. The aim is to support a balanced development and make all regions more resilient. The Programme co-finances these organisations to work together in transnational projects on specific themes.
  • All projects financed by the Programme will need to demonstrate high transnational cooperation intensity throughout their lifetime with a clear focus on results. This means that partners must work together to deliver, disseminate and roll-out the results of their project.

Thematic Priorities

To deliver its aim, the Programme has identified five thematic priorities, each of which is sub-divided into Specific Objectives (SO). These priorities and Specific Objectives are:

  • Priority 1 – Smart climate and environmental resilience for NWE territories
  • Promoting climate change adaptation and disaster risk prevention, resilience taking into account ecosystem-based approaches (SO 2.4)
  • Enhancing protection and preservation of nature, biodiversity and green infrastructure, including in urban areas, and reducing all forms of pollution (SO 2.7)
  • Priority 2 – Smart and just energy transition for NWE territories
  • Promoting energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissions (SO 2.1)
  • Promoting renewable energy in accordance with Directive (EU) 2018/2001, including the sustainability criteria set out therein (SO 2.2).
  • Priority 3 – Transition towards a place-based circular economy
  • Promoting the transition to a circular and resource efficient economy (SO 2.6)
  • Priority 4 – Improving territorial resilience in NWE through innovative and smart transformation
  • Developing and enhancing research and innovation capacities and the uptake of advanced technologies (SO 1.1).
  • Priority 5 –Transition towards a socially inclusive and resilient society
  • Enhancing the effectiveness and inclusiveness of labour markets and access to quality employment through developing social infrastructure and promoting social economy (SO 4.1).
  • Ensuring equal access to health care and fostering resilience of health systems, including primary care, and promoting the transition from institutional to family-andcommunity-based care (SO 4.5).
  • Enhancing the role of culture and sustainable tourism in economic development, social inclusion and social innovation (SO 4.6).
  • Funding Information
  • Over the lifetime of the Programme, € 287 million of ERDF (European Regional Development Fund) will be allocated to projects. No ceiling is set for this call.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The Programme targets all or parts of seven participating countries, including six EU Member States (Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) and the non-EU Member State Switzerland.
  • A wide range of public and private (non-profit and profit making) organisations are welcomed to take part in NWE project partnerships including national, regional and local authorities (or EGTC’s, or public equivalent organisations), universities, R&D centres, SMEs and business support organisations, sectoral associations, NGOs, lobby organisations and citizens groups.
  • Projects should bring together at least three partners from three different countries (usually more) of which two need to be from within the NWE Programme area.