Preservation Grant Program

Mississippi Department of Archives and History

Relevent Country: United States of America

The Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH) is accepting applications for the Community Heritage Preservation Grant (CHPG) Program.

CHPG grants help preserve, restore, rehabilitate, and interpret Mississippi courthouses and schools across the state. In communities that participate in the Certified Local Government (CLG) Program, buildings other than courthouses and schools are also eligible, as long as they are Mississippi Landmarks.

Funding Information

  • Grant projects must have a designated Project Coordinator. In addition, projects above $75,000 require a licensed architect.

Eligibility Criteria

In Certified Local Government (CLG) communities, those communities which have established a historic preservation commission and program certified by the National Park Service, grant funds may also be used for projects involving historic buildings other than courthouses or schools. These are the 56 CLGs in Mississippi:

  • Aberdeen, Baldwyn, Bay St. Louis, Biloxi, Booneville, Brandon, Canton, Carthage, Carrollton, Claiborne County, Clarksdale, Cleveland, Clinton, Columbia, Columbus, Como, Corinth, Durant, Gautier, Greenville, Greenwood, Hattiesburg, Hazelhurst, Hernando, Holly Springs, Indianola, Jackson, Kosciusko, Laurel, Leland, Lexington, Louisville, McComb, Meridian, Mound Bayou, Mount Olive, Natchez, New Albany, Ocean Springs, Oxford, Pascagoula, Philadelphia, Port Gibson, Quitman, Raymond, Senatobia, Sharkey County, Starkville, Tunica, Tupelo, Vicksburg, Water Valley, West, West Point, Woodville, and Yazoo City.
  • Only historic courthouses and school buildings are eligible in all other communities.
  • To be eligible, a building must be designated a Mississippi Landmark under the provisions of the Antiquities Law of Mississippi prior to application.

Eligible applicants include:

  • government entities, including counties and municipalities;
  • school districts; and
  • private, non-profit organizations with 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status, including historical societies, preservation organizations, and private schools. Individuals and private, for-profit entities are not eligible.