The Rule of Law Foundation of Democracy

World Justice Challenge

Relevent Country: United States of America

The World Justice Project (WJP) is pleased to announce the World Justice Challenge, a global competition to identify, recognize, and promote good practices and high-impact initiatives that protect and advance the rule of law
For the 2024 competition, the theme is The Rule of Law Foundation of Democracy, focusing on effective strategies for strengthening the rule of law to reverse autocracy and rebuild trust in democratic governance.

The Challenge compiles an evidence base for successful rule of law approaches, raises their strategic visibility, and strengthens an emerging network of rule of law champions. The Challenge competition invites submissions for initiatives that address critical rule of law challenges around the world in particular thematic categories.


Awards will be made in the following categories:
  • Ensuring that electoral processes and transitions of government power are subject to the law
  • Building citizen trust in justice institutions and guaranteeing that justice systems are independent, impartial, accountable, transparent, and ethical
  • Protecting free media and a robust, trustworthy information ecosystem in the face of new challenges posed by 21st century technological change
  • Strengthening young people’s engagement with and commitment to rule of law and democracy processes and institutions
  • The U.S. Building Trust Prize for the project from the United States that demonstrates exceptional impact in one or more of the above categories
  • WJP will select thirty finalists. The finalists will be profiled on WJP’s website and social media to promote visibility and uptake of these promising approaches.
Award Information
  • Cash awards ($20,000 USD) will go to five initiatives that show demonstrable results and promising prospects for future progress and replication and/or scaling.
  • The five winning initiatives will be selected in the following manner:
  • Four winners will be chosen by a committee of experienced judges.
  • A fifth winner will be selected by a network of finalists from previous World Justice Challenge competitions.
  • The competition will culminate on the sidelines of the American Bar Association Annual Meeting, which will take place August 3-9, 2024 in Chicago, USA. All finalists will be invited to attend in-person to showcase their work and take part in the Challenge awards ceremony.
  • All finalists will be invited to join the World Justice Challenge Alumni Network for ongoing networking, partnership, visibility, and learning opportunities to support their work.
Eligibility Criteria
  • Initiatives that address at least one of the issue areas in the categories stated are eligible to apply.
  • The competition is global and open to applications from any country or territory in the world. As noted, only United States-based projects will be eligible for the U.S. Building Trust Prize. Awards in the other four categories will be given to non-U.S. projects.
  • The competition is multidisciplinary and open to organizations across sectors, including, but not limited to: non-profits; social entrepreneurs; media; multilateral organizations; local and national government bodies and agencies; businesses/private sector enterprises; bar associations; and law firms.
  • Applicants may submit no more than two entries.
  • Collaborative entries among several organizations are welcome.
  • Entries must be submitted in English. However, please note that entries will be evaluated solely based on the quality of the project itself, and not on the application’s level of English language mastery or ability.