TWAS-Elsevier Foundation: Seeking Applications for Sustainability Visiting Expert Programme in Developing Countries

TWAS-Elsevier Foundation
Required Skill: 
Last date: 
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Central African Republic

Detailed Description

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) in partnership with the Elsevier Foundation, is seeking applications for its “Sustainability Visiting Expert Programme” with an aim to provide institutions and research groups in developing countries, especially those with limited outside contacts, with the opportunity to establish long-term links with world leaders in sustainability and further build capacity building in their countries.

The Elsevier Foundation and TWAS have joined to create a Visiting Expert Programme in sustainability science. This effort is in line with the new Sustainable Development Goals of the United Na tions 2030 Agenda.

The Elsevier Foundation – TWAS Sustainability Visiting Expert Programme supports visits of distinguished scientists to institutions in developing countries, especially those in the 48 Least Developed Countries (LDCs).


  • The visit should provide a minimum stay of two weeks at the host institution. Applications to renew successful visits will be considered in the following year(s).
  • The sponsoring organi zation, through TWAS, will provide the visiting expert with up to USD4,000 to cover the cost of travel, visa, accommodation and other expenses related to the visit.

Eligibility Criteria

Under the programme, prospective host institutions can invite distinguished scientists in sustainability to collaborate in research and train ing. The visiting expert will be expected to interact closely with faculty and students of the host institution with the aim of strengthening its existing activities and/or assisting in the establishment of new lines of research. The visiting expert could also deliver lectures and seminars to research students, supervise students, conduct research and discuss future collaborative partnerships.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted via email at the address given on the website.

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep., Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia

For more information, please visit TWAS-Elsevier Foundation.

Copyrights 2017. All rights reserved | Technology Partner: Indev Consultancy Pvt. Ltd